2020: Spring Preview

• Mar 7, 2020 •

As the weather gradually gets warmer and the sun creeps out from behind the clouds, it’s almost time to head into the garden with a book. With so many books published each month, it can be quite intimidating to decide what books to read first. Well, worry no further. We’ve got you sorted with everything we’re publishing from March to May. From the biggest book of the year and thrilling debuts, to moving memoirs and family history, 4th Estate has a book for everyone.

MARCH

5th MarchTHE MIRROR & THE LIGHT, Hilary Mantel

Described by critics and fans as the publishing event of the decade and possibly a lifetime. Hilary Mantel’s highly anticipated conclusion to the Wolf Hall trilogy is publishing on the 5th March. The first two books in this ground-breaking historical fiction trilogy following the rise and fall of Thomas Cromwell have sold in excess of 5 million copies worldwide and both won the Man-Booker prize. Can she win again with The Mirror & the Light? Be a part of the national conversation by picking up a copy today.

5th MarchFOOTPRINTS, David Farrier

Amidst the current climate crisis and conversations about sustainability, in Footprints, David Farrier explores what traces we will leave for the very deep future. Through an urgent search for fossils – industrial, chemical, geological – Footprints seeks to discover what our world will look like ten thousand or ten million years from now?

5th MarchHOUSE OF GLASS, Hadley Freeman

When Hadley found a shoebox filled with her grandmother’s treasured belongings, it started a decade-long quest to find out their haunting significance and to dig deep into the extraordinary lives of Sala and her three brothers. In House of Glass, Guardian journalist, Hadley Freeman examines ideas of home, family and assimilation in a deeply moving memoir about family history and Jewish identity.

31st MarchMY DARK VANESSA, Kate Elizabeth Russell

One of the most highly anticipated books of the year. My Dark Vanessa is the debut novel by Kate Elizabeth Russell, described as ‘a package of dynamite’ (Stephen King), ‘compelling and disturbing’ (Karen Joy Fowler) and ‘brilliant and stunning’ (Gillian Flynn).

It follows the protagonist, Vanessa Wye, who was fifteen-years-old when she first had sex with her English teacher. She is now thirty-two and in the storm of allegations against powerful men in 2017, the teacher, Jacob Strane, has just been accused of sexual abuse by another former student. Vanessa is horrified by this news, because she is quite certain that the relationship she had with Strane wasn’t abuse. It was love. Forced to rethink her past, to revisit everything that happened, Vanessa has to redefine the great love story of her life – her great sexual awakening – as rape. Now she must deal with the possibility that she might be a victim, and just one of many.

APRIL

2nd AprilONE, TWO, THREE, FOUR, Craig Brown

After the storming success of Ma’am Darling, the biography of Princess Margaret, Craig Brown is back with a book about the most famous band to ever exist. There have been numerous Beatles biographies but none quite like One, Two, Three, Four. In this book, Brown takes on the chance fusion of the four key elements that made up The Beatles: fire (John), water (Paul), air (George) and earth (Ringo) and explores the colourful kaleidoscopic world they inhibited and their orbit of friends and acquaintances. A thrilling and frenetic yellow submarine ride through Beatlemania.

2nd AprilRAVEN SMITH’S TRIVIAL PURSUITS, Raven Smith

Is being tall a social currency? Am I the contents of my fridge? Does yoga matter if you’re not filthy rich? Is a bagel four slices of bread? Are three cigarettes a meal? In Raven Smith’s Trivial Pursuits, Raven finds humour in the quotidian and minutiae of life. With his signature absurdist sense of humour known from his Instagram account, Raven seeks to reflect on the importance of ordinary modern living and touches on his personal experience of his single-parent upbringing, his struggles as a lonely teenager and coming out.

16th AprilCONJURE WOMEN, Afia Atakora

We are very lucky to publish another talented debut novelist. Afia Atakora’s Conjure Women is a spell-bending historical fiction slave narrative which uses non-linear storytelling to tell a story of a woman named Rue during the American Civil War. The novel explores the relationship between Rue and Varina, her master’s daughter. Mother-daughter relationships, personal and collective memory, the trauma of slavery and witchcraft are just some of the complex themes explored. Readers who love Toni Morrison’s Beloved, Sara Collins’ The Confessions of Frannie Langton and Yaa Gyasi’s Homegoing will find plenty to enjoy in this book.

28th MaySET MY HEART TO FIVE, Simon Stephenson

10/10 Jared does not have friends. Because friends are a function of feelings.
Therefore friends are just one more human obligation that Jared never has to worry about.
 
But Jared is worrying. Which is worrying. He’s also started watching old films. And inexplicably crying in them. Soon his feelings will send him fleeing across the country, pursued by a man who wants to destroy him and driven by an illogical desire to share pathogens with the woman who bamboozles him the most. And Jared cannot!
 
Because feelings will ruin your life, especially if you aren’t supposed to have them…

28th MayTHE CHIFFON TRENCHES, André Leon Talley

Discover what truly happens behind the scenes in the world of high fashion in this detailed, storied memoir from style icon, bestselling author and former Vogue creative director André Leon Talley.

‘Honestly and candidly captures fifty sublime years of fashion’ Manolo Blahnik

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is newsletter-button.png

Comments are closed.