Hilary Mantel’s Bring Up the Bodies shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012

• Sep 11, 2012 • Tags:

We are proud and thrilled to announce that Hilary Mantel’s ‘Bring Up the Bodies’ has been shortlisted for the 2012 Man Booker Prize. Mantel won the prize in 2009 for the first in her Thomas Cromwell trilogy, ‘Wolf Hall’, with the prize’s chair, James Naughtie, commenting,

‘Hilary Mantel has given us a thoroughly modern novel set in the 16th century. ‘Wolf Hall’ has a vast narrative sweep that gleams on every page with luminous and mesmerising detail.’

‘Bring Up the Bodies’ was published in May and was adored by readers and critics alike. The TLS wrote, ‘There is no sense in which ‘Bring Up the Bodies’ is a simple follow-up or continuation of ‘Wolf Hall’. More than most, Mantel is a committed revolutionary novelist’.

In ‘Bring Up the Bodies’, Mantel explores one of the most mystifying and frightening episodes in English history: the destruction of Anne Boleyn. It is available to buy here: http://bit.ly/PYLhP3

Below is the official Man Booker Press Release.

2012 shortlist announced

Man Booker Prize for Fiction:

2012 shortlist announced


Deborah Levy, Hilary Mantel, Alison Moore, Will Self, Tan Twan Eng and Jeet Thayil are the six shortlisted authors in contention for the Man Booker Prize 2012, it is announced today, Tuesday 11 September 2012.

The judges praised the powerful language and artistry displayed in the six books, whose common themes include old age, memory and loss.

The six books, selected from the longlist of 12, are:

Author                      Title (Publisher)

Tan Twan Eng            The Garden of Evening Mists (Myrmidon Books)

Deborah Levy             Swimming Home (And Other Stories / Faber & Faber)

Hilary Mantel             Bring up the Bodies (Fourth Estate)

Alison Moore              The Lighthouse (Salt)

Will Self                      Umbrella (Bloomsbury)

Jeet Thayil                  Narcopolis (Faber & Faber)

At the time of the longlist announcement, Chair of judges Sir Peter Stothard commented ‘the new has come powering through’. This remains true of the shortlist, which includes two first novels, from Indian author Jeet Thayil and East Midlands-based Alison Moore, and three small publishers from Newcastle-upon-Tyne (Myrmidon Books), North Norfolk (Salt Publishing) and High Wycombe (And Other Stories).

In an interesting development, Deborah Levy’s novel, Swimming Home, is now co-published by And Other Stories and Faber & Faber, following a collaboration on a mass-market edition after Levy was longlisted.

Of the six authors, two have previously been linked to the prize. Hilary Mantel won the prize in 2009 with Wolf Hall, the first of her Thomas Cromwell trilogy, and was longlisted in 2005 for Beyond Black. Malaysian author Tan Twan Eng was longlisted for the prize in 2007 with his debut novel, The Gift of Rain. Four novelists, including Will Self, a radical of contemporary literature, appear on the list for the first time.

The shortlist was announced by Sir Peter Stothard, Chair of judges and Editor of the Times Literary Supplement, at a press conference held at the Man Group’s London headquarters.

Sir Peter comments:

‘After re-reading an extraordinary longlist of twelve, it was the pure power of prose that settled most debates. We loved the shock of language shown in so many different ways and were exhilarated by the vigour and vividly defined values in the six books that we chose – and in the visible confidence of the novel’s place in forming our words and ideas.’

Stothard was joined at the press conference by the four other members of the 2012 Man Booker Prize judging panel: Dinah Birch, academic and literary critic; Amanda Foreman, historian, writer and broadcaster; Dan Stevens, actor; and Bharat Tandon, academic, writer and reviewer.

This year’s winner will be announced on Tuesday 16 October 2012, at a dinner at London’s Guildhall, where the announcement of the winner will be televised by the BBC. Each shortlisted author will receive £2,500 and a specially commissioned handbound edition of their book. The winner will receive a further £50,000. The winner may also expect a significant increase in sales of their book: Julian Barnes’ The Sense of An Ending (Jonathan Cape, Random House), which won the 2011 prize, has now sold over 300,000 in the UK in print copies alone.

Ahead of the announcement, there will be a number of public events with the shortlisted authors including, for the first time this year, Man Booker Live: a collaboration between the Man Booker Prize and Picturehouse Entertainment to broadcast ‘Prize Readings’, an evening with the 2012 shortlisted authors at the Royal Festival Hall at London’s Southbank Centre on Monday 15 October. Cinemas across the UK will screen the event, chaired by former judge and BBC Radio 4 presenter James Naughtie, the night before the winner ceremony. Other events include a panel discussion at The Times Cheltenham Literary Festival on Saturday 13 October and an audience with the winner at the Apple store, Covent Garden, on Thursday 18 October.

More details of these events and further information about the prize can be found on the Man Booker Prize website www.themanbookerprize.com.

For the latest Man Booker Prize news, follow @ManBookerPrize on Twitter.

Comments are closed.